5 Health Benefits of Vegan Candy

vegan candy

Most vegans decide to turn to a healthier lifestyle devoid of animal meat and byproducts because of the major health, ethical, and environmental concerns. 

We all know that sugar-laden candies are likely never good for the health. In addition, consuming animal byproducts in regular candies increases the risk of animal extinction. For those who don’t know, even your much-loved sweets likely contain animal byproducts that involve questionable extraction practices.

Thankfully, the vegan world has cleverly created cruelty-free and more healthful versions of traditional snacks and vegetarian sweets such as candy. Check out NoPigNeva for a wide range of vegan products available for you. 

If you need more convincing, allow us to show you the five health benefits of taking vegan candy.

Vegan Candy May Contribute To A Healthy Heart 

healthy food

A vegan diet is always generally healthier than an animal-based diet, vegan snacks included. By using plant-based substitutes in lieu of animal byproducts, it’s not only devoid of animal cruelty, but it also has lower levels of unhealthy compounds. 

For instance, vegans replace gelatin with cornstarch and other healthier types of oil that are known to contain fewer carbs and fat. Vegan candies also avoid using hydrogenated vegetable oils that can cause a hike in cholesterol levels. Lower levels of sugar, carbs, and fat help maintain heart health and may contribute to reducing blood pressure.

Vegan Candy May Help Prevent Serious Diseases 

Staying natural and organic is one of the cornerstone principles of a vegan diet. As such, vegan candy-making regulates the use of artificial sugar. 

Vegan candies use natural sugar and fruits instead of artificial ingredients and high fructose corn syrup—known to increase your blood lipids. Some manufacturers skip using cane sugar and switch to healthier coconut sugar. Unlike cane sugar, coconut sugar doesn’t raise your sugar levels exponentially. So, you won’t get a sugar crash after eating vegan candies. 

Health experts believe that excessive sugar consumption makes one highly susceptible to serious health conditions such as type 2 diabetes, obesity, fatty liver, and cancer.

Vegan Candy Has More Antioxidants Than Your Regular Candy 

Most vegan candies make great substitutes for chocolates, as these products focus on the use of dark chocolate that’s grown in an eco-friendly manner. Dark chocolate, as we all know, is packed with high levels of antioxidants. It also has lower carbohydrates and fat content as compared to the milk chocolate being used to create world-famous candies.

Vegan Candy Is Nutrient–Rich 

A vegan diet not only eliminates meat and animal products but also stresses the consumption of pure and relatively healthier whole grains as the main protein source. Most vegan candies are packed with whole grains, fruits, vegetables, beans, peas, nuts, and seeds. Chomping on them helps increase your daily intake of essential vitamins and minerals instead of the sinful sugar content of traditional candies. High sugar content is one of the main reasons why regular candies are classified as “junk food.”

Vegan Candy Is Hypoallergenic

Vegans, paleo dieters, and people with allergies to dairy, soy, and gluten products may benefit from vegan candy. These natural and organic sweets are without products derived from these allergens, so sensitive beings can pop a few pieces without worrying about the redness, itch, and swelling.


Non-vegan Ingredients In Candies You Need To Know About

Not many people know that the candy-making process is fraught with animal cruelty. If you’d like to stop this ghastly practice, you can start choosing vegan candies and products.

A “regular” candy has these four common ingredients: carmine, shellac, gelatin, and bone char, which aren’t totally environmental or animal-friendly for the following reasons:

Carmine: A form of food coloring also often known as the crimson lake, red 4 or natural red 40. No matter the name, this edible pigment is made from crushing and boiling female cochineal insects’ shells. 

Gelatin: It’s produced by boiling down the cattle or boar’s tendons and ligaments, bones, and skin. Gelatin is useful in making candies as a thickening and binding agent. 

Shellac: It provides candies with a hard and shiny-looking cover, also called confectioner’s glaze. It may not look harmful, but it’s actually made from the excretions of the female lac bug endemic to India and Thailand, making it vegetarian but not at all vegan. 

Bone Char: This is a byproduct of burning and charring cattle bones and is used in candy manufacturing to refine and whiten sugar particles. 

A Sweet Last Message

Candies are considered junk foods for a reason. However, with vegan candies, you might get more than just sugar. When taken in moderation and on special occasions or your cheat day, vegan candies may help enhance your health goals. If you’re ready to make the switch, consider vegan candy to make your life sweeter.